Mutants and Masterminds Fail.


The last few games I have tried to run Mutants and Masterminds (3rd Ed. deluxe). I am aware that this game has a loyal and rabid fan base. I, However, didn’t care for it and Neither did my players.

If you like it, that’s great! Roll on and be badass.

So where did it go wrong?

One: Poorly written, the way things were worded made it hard to decipher what was meant. It took extra time to reread sections, figure them out, and re-word them. Also, I had a hell of a time reading the book without dosing off (literally) or being distracted by the television (the actor who plays Mr. Gold is awesome).

Two: It just didn’t feel very superhero, or very comic book to me. The minutia of the rules kept getting in the way. The damage system was way too complicated for this genre. The minute I see the systems formula expressed with brackets I begin to see red warning lights.

Three: While they gave a crap ton of basic NPCs they were all “Normals”. It would have made things easier to give a section of basic supervillain templates to build your villains off of.

Also, as a side issue, I don’t care for abstracted monetary systems in general and several times it bogged the game trying to figure out if the players could reasonably have access to something. I know it could be handwaved, but somehow that just feels hollow to me. Often times in comics one of the defining features of a character is not only how much money they do or don’t have, but how they spend that money. This also leads into another issue that I have with certain games, spending character creation points on equipment (or any material possessions) that you can just go into a store and buy.

All in all, I think I would have been better off using GURPS or Savage Worlds….Maybe BESM

Leave a Reply

