Tuesday….


But I am writing this on Wednesday. Yesterday I went to Half Price Books, Lowes, Petsmart, and Petco. At HPB I picked up some more reads and perused their RPG section and found nothing of interest. I know lots of gamers make great finds at their local HPB, but lately mine has been kind of sad in that regard.

Enough lamenting! Onward to my finds! I picked up;  Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by (Stieg Larsson) , The Whisperer in the Darkness (H.P. Lovecraft collected stories volume one) , and Hyperbole and a Half  (Allie Brosh).

I snagged Girl because my father gave me the sequel after he had finished with it (he didn’t have the first one any longer, I don’t remember  why at the moment). So buying that book gave me two to read.

The Whisperer in the Darkness I purchased because I had previously purchased Volume two and it’s Lovecraft, dur.

I have been a big fan of Allie Brosh and Hyperbole and a Half for years so when I saw the book I had to buy it and start reading it right away. So far, some of the stories I already have seen… but that doesn’t matter. They’re funny no matter how many times you read them. She has a knack for making you laugh in the face of some seriously dark subject matter, in fact if you suffer from depression I highly recommend this work. If you want to be more familiar with Allie and Hyperbole    http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/ .

At the pet store I bought two glass cats and acquired a bunch of Malaysian Trumpet Snails, which the pet store regarded as nuisance snails. They would be a nuisance if they didn’t have value for the root systems of my aquarium plants.

At Lowes I bought a very frozen forty pound bag of topsoil and an eighty pound bag of driveway cement. Eighty pounds of cement mix is very heavy. Must have weighed damn near a hundred pounds.

That was my day yesterday. More excitement than usual because I am on Vacation from my job this week.

Currently reading;

  • The Man Who Loved Books too Much
  • The Horror in the Museum
  • Hyperbole and a Half
  • Who Could That Be at This Hour?
Leave a Reply

