The wall…it burns us!


I wanted to write a new post for awhile now but have found myself repeatedly bumping into a wall. So I thought I would write a bit about that in hopes of clearing the obstruction to my thinking. Add in a bit about the new year, Etc. (any advice on removing that wall would be welcomed).

This last year was what sports teams refer to as a “rebuilding” year for me. I started out thinking I was going to go one way, and instead, finally found what I would like to do. To get there I have to do a few things, the first of which is to reduce my personal debt (excluding mortgage, because that isn’t going away unless I win the lotto) down to about one quarter of what I currently owe. Phase two of this is making sure all of my ducks are in a row, but lets not get ahead of ourselves there. I wanted to mention phase two because some of phase two is going to leak into phase one… anywayyy.

RPG-wise I would like to release a new product or two this year. I believe I have been suffering from advice overload on this score, seeing all the great things everyone else is doing kinda depresses me a little. I am thinking of doing small .99 cent to $1.99 PDFs, easy on the wallet stuff, but I am not sure what to do with this yet. Thinking about big project ideas I need a setting that I can sink my teeth into, and that I think a good number of people would enjoy. Later today I will map out a few ideas that I can easily pop out into the world.

What I have been banging up against (look I finally get to the point!) is the concept of a world that incorporates the tropes of Sword and Sorcery fiction, low fantasy, and “fire” arms (fire being replaced by any number of projectile propellants) That does not go into the realms of the old west and/or steampunk. It has been a conundrum, one of those where I know where I want to get to I just have no idea how to get there or what flavor it will have.

So there is my new years ramble, keep those dice clattering.

-Adam-

 

 

Leave a Reply

