Notes on a Bonsai


As I write this I am sitting outside next to my Bonsai.  At the end of last winter I was pretty sure it was dead, all of the leaves had dried out and fallen off.  I realize trees lose leaves in the fall but this one is not a “dormant” tree and I keep it inside during the cold months.  Right now however it has been repotted and has numerous leaves and shoots.  While it had lost a lot of dead branches careful pruning had saved it from impending tree doom.

What I get from this is no matter how dead we feel inside, no matter how much of our lives have been removed or left to wither, as long as we have our roots firmly in the soil and nurture our three aspects (Physical, mental, spiritual.)  we can bounce back.

Leave a Reply

