Son


He’s not like your kid

he never can be

don’t patronize me

don’t say you understand

you don’t

unless you have held his hand

in emergency

trying to explain this away

trying to get him to understand

my constant parents worry is amplified

to the point of making me numb

he is not “special”

he is not handicapped by anything

except his run-away emotions

and altered perceptions

he is an artist

a great reader

he is only eight

his struggle with this world

leaves me in awe of his strength

everyday he overcomes, one inch forward at a time.

my son is my hero

and in the dead of night

I realize one thing

all I can really do is walk beside him

I cannot guide him

because I can never really know his world.

Leave a Reply

